Tuesday, 14 May 2013

Seven lodge reports over vote-buying

Seven Pakatan Rakyat candidates who lost in the 13th general election have lodged reports with the Penang Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) over alleged vote-buying.

They are PKR’s Datuk Abdul Halim Hussain (Teluk Bahang), Mohd Tuah Ismail (Pulau Betong), Norhayati Jaafar (Teluk Air Tawar) and Ahmad Zakiyuddin Abd Rahman (Pinang Tunggal) and Muhammad Bakhtiar Wan Chik (Balik Pulau parliamentary seat),

The two others are PAS’ Asnah Hashim (Bayan Lepas) and Rosidi Hussain (Penaga).

Most lost their seats by less than 1,000 votes.

Bayan Baru MP Sim Tze Tzin said people could be seen queuing up to get monetary rewards two days before polling on May 5.

“Clearly, such an act (giving out money) is an offence under the Election Act,” he said when met outside the Penang MACC headquarters in Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah.

It was earlier reported that a large group of people had gone to redeem vouchers they were allegedly given before polling day at three locations in Sungai Dua, Pulau Betong and Tanjung Bungah.

The vouchers would allegedly entitle them to cash if a particular candidate in that constituency won.

Air Itam assemblyman Wong Hon Wai, who was also present, said he was upset over how complaints of money politics during campaigning had been handled by the commission.

Penang MACC director Datuk M. Samarajoo said they had launched an investigation.


Post a Comment